AOL is a company that I used to use as my email provider. I remember signing up for AOL and getting my first email. It was a welcome email, and it said that I would receive new emails from AOL every day. I never received those emails, and now I’m wondering where they went. I can’t find any evidence that AOL ever sent me new emails, so it’s likely that they were deleted or lost in the shuffle of AOL’s changes over the years. If you’ve received an email from AOL but don’t remember signing up for it, please reach out to them and ask them where your old emails went.


Mail that you send will retain in your Sent Mail folder for up to 27 days. Mail that is sent to you stays in your In-box until you delete it from there Mail remains in Old. Mail, Sent Mail, and the folder on your PC or AOL until you decide to delete it.

If you have deleted any emails in your ‘deleted’ file, there is a way within the client and on the web to recover these files. However, 30 days must be given for recovery of said files- anything that was deleted after this date will be permanently lost.

To recover deleted Gmail messages, go to mail.google.com and search for emails containing the specific terms you are looking for in your query fields; all available or recoverable messages will be shown under Search Results.

If you accidentally delete an email, just shake your iPhone in the air. A pop-up of options will appear: “Undo Trash?” and “Cancel.” Retrieve the email. Tap “Undo” to restore the deleted message back to your inbox.